Cookies are files, often including unique identifiers, that are sent by web servers to web browsers, and which may then be sent back to the server each time the browser requests a page from the server.
Cookies can be used by web servers to identity and track users as they navigate different pages on a website, and to identify users returning to a website.
Cookies may be either persistent cookies or session cookies. A persistent cookie consists of a text file sent by a web server to a web browser, which will be stored by the browser and will remain valid until its set expiry date (unless deleted by the user before the expiry date). A session cookie, on the other hand, will expire at the end of the user session, when the web browser is closed.
Cookies do not contain any information that personally identifies you, but personal information that we store about you may be linked, by us, to the information stored in and obtained from cookies.
We may use the information we obtain from your use of our cookies for the following purposes:
to recognise your computer when you visit our website
to track you as you navigate our website
to improve the websites usability
to analyse the use of our website
in the administration of this website
Third party cookies
When you use our website, you may also be sent third party cookies.
Most browsers allow you to refuse to accept cookies. For example:
In Internet Explorer you can refuse all cookies by clicking Tools, Internet Options, Privacy, and selecting Block all cookies using the sliding selector.
In Firefox you can block all cookies by clicking Tools, Options, and un-checking Accept cookies from sites in the Privacy box.
Blocking all cookies will, however, have a negative impact on the usability of many websites. If you block cookies, you will not be able to use certain features on this website.
You can also delete cookies already stored on your computer:
In Internet Explorer, you must manually delete cookie files.
In Firefox, you can delete cookies by, first ensuring that cookies are to be deleted when you clear private data (this setting can be changed by clicking Tools, Options and Settings in the Private Databox) and then clicking Clear private data in the Tools menu.
Doing this may have a negative impact on the usability of many websites.